Biological Chemistry

Biological Division

About Biological Chemistry

The Biological Chemistry groups in the department use the principles of chemistry to develop a deeper understanding of biological processes. Their research covers (among others) the investigation of the mechanism of mutagenesis and repair of DNA damage derived from gamma radiation, oxidation, and environmental pollutants; the synthesis of bioactive small molecules that affect cell migration, the study of the molecular mechanism of action of antimigratory compounds and protein-small molecule interactions; the modulation of protein-carbohydrate interactions; and the development of biomarkers for early cancer detection.

Graduate courses in the division include CHEM 5360 (Biological Chemistry I) and CHEM 5361 (Biological Chemistry II). Students also take additional courses related to their research project. Other courses are available through the other divisions within the Chemistry Department as well as the Pharmacy and Molecular & Cell Biology Departments.

Associated Faculty

angeles-boza

Alfredo Angeles-Boza

Associate Professor

alfredo.angeles-boza@uconn.edu

(860) 486-6718

CHEM A-312

Basu

Ashis Basu

Professor

ashis.basu@uconn.edu

(860) 486-3965

CHEM A-414

Frank

Harry Frank

Board of Trustees Distinguished Professor Emeritus

harry.frank@uconn.edu

(860) 486-6646

CHEM A-213

Gascon

Jose Gascon

Professor

jose.gascon@uconn.edu

(860) 486-0591

CHEM A-411

Kumar

Challa Kumar

Professor

challa.kumar@uconn.edu

(860) 486-3213

CHEM A-317

Peczuh

Mark Peczuh

Associate Department Head
Professor

mark.peczuh@uconn.edu

(860) 486-1605

CHEM A-316

Jessica Rouge

Assistant Professor

jessica.rouge@uconn.edu

(860) 486-4784

CHEM A-417

Rusling

James Rusling

Paul Krenicki Professor of Chemistry

james.rusling@uconn.edu

(860) 486-4909

CHEM A-314

Yao

Xudong Yao

Associate Professor

x.yao@uconn.edu

(860) 486-6644

CHEM A-419