Physical Chemistry

Physical Division

About Physical Chemistry

Physical Chemistry is the application of fundamental laws and methods of physics to understand chemical structure and processes. Research in the department encompasses many fundamental applications with a strong interdisciplinary focus. The research in the department includes studies of the light-induced photochemical events in pigments and proteins in photosynthesis and vision; solar energy capture; optical and structural properties of nanoparticles at the single particle level; large-scale quantum chemical methods for protein structure and function; computation of structural and electronic properties of enzyme reactions; and atomistic simulations of monolayer protected nano-clusters.

The physical chemistry groups in the department use a wide range of modern experimental and computational techniques, including steady-state and ultrafast time-resolved optical spectroscopy, electron paramagnetic resonance, directed evolution to optimize proteins for device applications, molecular dynamic simulations of proteins and biomaterials, quantum chemistry techniques, Raman scattering, and plasmonics.

Associated Faculty

Gascon

Jose Gascon

Professor

jose.gascon@uconn.edu

CHEM A-411

Jie He

Jie He

Associate Professor

jie.he@uconn.edu

CHEM A-319

Kumar

Challa Kumar

Professor

challa.kumar@uconn.edu

CHEM A-317

Lin

Yao Lin

Professor

yao.lin@uconn.edu

IMS 303

Tomoyasu Mani

Tomoyasu Mani

Assistant Professor

tomoyasu.mani@uconn.edu

CHEM A-407

Papadimitrakopoulos

Fotios Papadimitrakopoulos

Professor

fotios.papadimitrakopoulos@uconn.edu

IMS 203

Pinkhassik

Eugene Pinkhassik

Associate Professor

eugene.pinkhassik@uconn.edu

CHEM A-412

Rebecca Quardokus

Rebecca Quardokus

Assistant Professor

rebecca.quardokus@uconn.edu

CHEM A-410

Zhao

Jing Zhao

Associate Professor

jing.zhao@uconn.edu

CHEM A-413