Paper from Rusling Group Accepted in ACS Editor’s Choice

RuslingA paper from Dr. Jim Rusling’s group–in collaboration with Prof. Richard Kremer at McGill University–was recently accepted in Analytical Chemistry in press and on-line in “ACS Editors’ Choice.”

New peer-reviewed research articles are given an “ACS Editors’ Choice” distinction based on recommendations by the scientific editors of ACS journals from around the world. All “ACS Editors’ Choice” articles will remain open for all to access and read.

Brunah A. Otieno, Colleen E. Krause, Abby L. Jones, Richard B. Kremer, James F. Rusling, Cancer Diagnostics via Ultrasensitive Multiplexed Detection of Parathyroid Hormone-related Peptides (PTHrP) with a Microfluidic Immunoarray, Anal. Chem., 2016.

Full article >>>

Sravan Thota Receives ACS “Outstanding Student Poster Award”

Sravan wins poster award

Graduate Student Sravan Thota (Zhao Group) received an “Outstanding Student Poster Award” at the 2016 ACS Philadelphia Meeting. Sravan’s poster displayed his research of “Preferential Cu diffusion to the ends of AuCu alloy nanorod during galvanic replacement reaction.” Sravan was one of two students to receive this award from the ACS Colloids and Surface Chemistry Division (a field of approx. 100 posters). Sravan received a certificate and a check for $250.

Pinkhassik Group Research Featured on ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces Cover

Cover of ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces

A recent paper from the Pinkhassik Group was featured on the cover of ACS Applied Materials & Interfaces (ACS Appl. Mater. Interfaces20168 (30), pp 19755–19763). The study described the creation of size- and charge-selective nanoprobes for surface-enhanced raman scattering (SERS). The cover image illustrates the application of selective SERS nanoprobes in the trace analysis of small molecules in blood plasma without the need for sample pretreatment. The selectivity is achieved by controlling the size of nano pores or the charge of the shells of nanocapsules. Dr. Sergey Shmakov (UConn) and Ying Jia (Saint Louis University) contributed to this work.

Read article >>>

UConn Chemists Conduct Experiments at NIST

UConn chemists at NIST

Gillian Macusi and Dr. Sergey Shmakov (Pinkhassik Group) received travel fellowships to conduct neutron scattering experiments at the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST). They joined Drs. Sergey Dergunov and Eugene Pinkhassik (UConn) and Dr. Andrew Richter (Valparaiso University) at NIST Center for Neutron Research (NCNR) to investigate the structure of polymer nanocapsules developed in the Pinkhassik Group.