Flavio MaranProfessor Flavio Maran, who leads the Molecular Electrochemistry and Nanosystem Group at the University of Padova and is a Research Professor in the Department of Chemistry at the University of Connecticut, is the new winner of the Manuel M. Baizer Award, awarded by the Electrochemical Society (ECS), which is the largest electrochemical society. The Baizer Award (Manuel Baizer was a great chemist and foremost internationally recognized authority in organic electrosynthesis) was established in 1992 to recognize individuals for their outstanding scientific achievements in the electrochemistry of organics and organometallic compounds, carbon-based polymers and biomass, whether fundamental or applied, and including but not limited to synthesis, mechanistic studies, engineering of processes, electrocatalysis, devices such as sensors, pollution control, and separation/recovery. Prof. Maran will give his Award Lecture in May 2018, at the 233rd ECS Meeting in Seattle, Washington.

In 2014, Prof. Maran was selected as the first winner of the Jaroslav Heyrovsky Prize for Molecular Electrochemistry (Heyrovsky was awarded the 1959 Nobel Prize in Chemistry for his discovery and development of the polarographic methods of analysis), awarded by the International Society of Electrochemistry (ISE), the second major international electrochemical society.

Professor Maran is the only electrochemist in the world that has won both the two ECS and the ISE awards for molecular and organic electrochemistry.